Super easy to make, very forgiving, no stand mixer or beater. Just one bowl and a wooden spoon!

Chocolate Fudge Cake

I may be disowned as an Australian for saying this, but I’m not the hugest fan of classic Chocolate Mud Cake. I find it too dense and doughy, and it gets stuck to the roof of my mouth. It’s very……erm…..mud-like. Duh. Creative writing isn’t my forte, is it?? Hey – I’m a food blogger. Not a writer! 😂 So this isn’t a classic Chocolate Mud Cake because it has a bit of lift in it, but it is still way fudgier and mud-cake like than 99% of other chocolate cakes, including my own everyday Chocolate Cake. Call it a Chocolate Fudge MUD CAKE if you want!! (Bit too much of a mouthful for me…. 🙂 )

Why I love this fudge cake so much

I know there are a LOT of chocolate cake recipes “out there”. But here’s why I love this Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake so much:

It’s intensely chocolatey – thanks to the use of both melted chocolate AND cocoa powder. Beautifully moist and fudgy – hence the name! Terrific flavour. It truly tastes of chocolate which, as odd as it sounds, is actually rarer than you might think. You just need a wooden spoon. No stand mixer, no electric beater. It’s virtually foolproof. I’ve cooked it on high for shorter periods of time, and low for longer. I’ve had to dash out of the house before it was fully cooked and left it in the oven (turned off) to finish cooking. And it always works out. Why? Because it’s so fudgey, it is actually hard to overcook so it becomes dry and it is not meant to rise very much so you don’t have to worry about that part either! The Chocolate Ganache Frosting is crazy easy too. Cream + chocolate, melt, mix, cool. No beating! Everyone goes mad over this. Chocolate on chocolate. Enough said!

How to make this fudgy moist cake

You would be forgiven for thinking you’re making a brownie when you start making this Chocolate Fudge Cake. Because that is in fact where the roots of this cake recipe is drawn from. Did you know… The reason you see hot water in chocolate cake recipes is because it makes the cocoa “bloom”, making the cake taste more like chocolate!

↑↑↑ Crackage is normal! It’s kind of like that crinkly top of brownies – because this cake has lift in it from baking powder, it “bursts” through the crinkly top. But don’t worry, the cracks are less prominent once it cools (because it sinks a bit) and it’s completely hidden under Chocolate Ganache!

Chocolate Ganache Frosting

I’m of the opinion that if we’re going to make a Fudgy Chocolate Cake, let’s really drive home the decadence and chocolate flavour by frosting it with chocolate ganache. In contrast, fudge cakes have more of a cake-like texture, like what you see in the close up of the slice at the top of this post. If you’re new to Chocolate Ganche, you’re going to really love this. Rather than beating icing sugar and butter for ages and ages like we do with Chocolate Buttercream, Chocolate Ganache is made simply with cream and chocolate that’s heated until the chocolate melts. When hot, it’s a chocolate sauce you want to pour over everything. When it cools, it has the consistency of peanut butter. Easy to spread and swirl on your cakes or cupcakes, and everything in between.

My everyday Chocolate Cake is beautifully moist and it’s the one I make most often. But I figure we all need a blow out Chocolate Cake in our repertoire too. And this Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake is my blow-out Chocolate Cake recipe. It is rich. It is chocolatey. It is moist and fudgy. And I absolutely love it. I hope you consider trying it! – Nagi x

Get your chocolate fix!

Chocolate Salted Caramel Tart Everyday Chocolate Cake – try it decorated with Mirror Glaze! Chocolate Mousse Chocolate Cream Pie (outrageous!!!) Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding Flourless Chocolate Cake Chocolate Brownies and Outrageous Nutella Brownies

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Chocolate Fudge Cake recipe published May 2016. Recipe slightly updated November 2018 with improved cake texture and a more streamlined process. New photos, new video, new words!

Let them eat cake! 10 classic cake recipes

LIFE OF DOZER

I shooed him outside thinking that brown smear on his head was 💩 Turns out it was ganache 😂 It was driving him crazy trying to figure out a way to get to it! {PS No I never give him chocolate! I have no idea how it got there}

Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake - 33Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake - 72Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake - 46Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake - 80Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake - 92Easy Chocolate Fudge Cake - 30