Oh – and only 400 calories a serving. And you know my portions aren’t teeny tiny!

Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta

I know this is a rather different way to make a sun dried tomato pasta, but bear with me – it works, it’s super simple and there is logic to my madness. And it’s darn tasty! I’ve made sun dried tomato pasta before by just by stirring chopped up bits of sun dried tomato through a cream based sauce. Still lovely, don’t get me wrong! But I really wanted to try to increase the intensity of sun dried tomato flavour throughout all the sauce, rather than just getting little bursts of flavour. So I decided to whizz up a sauce in the blender. When you take the lid off the blender, you’re hit with a waft of sun dried tomato fragrance and you just know this pasta is going to be delish! Plus, by pureeing the sauce, the sun dried tomato thickens it and makes it richer too, which means you don’t actually need to use that much cream and you still get what tastes like rich, creamy sauce. I only use 1/4 cup of cream in this, mixed with milk, and no thickener. But look how thick the sauce is!

Sometimes I roast up veggies and toss them through the pasta. But I happened to have some big bunches of English spinach I got on sale for just $0.99 each. So I chopped it up, gave it a good rinse, shook it dry then stirred it right into the pasta. If you want to add protein into this, chicken is lovely and I certainly wouldn’t say no to bacon either. 🙂

Some fresh basil is a perfect pairing to add a touch of freshness to an otherwise rather creamy sauce. Whizzing it up in the sauce really brings out the delicate smell of the basil that mingles with the sun dried tomato. Sorry, I know I keep talking about the smell but it’s the best part of cooking this – the moment when you lift the lid off the blender and get the first waft, and you just know you’re in for a real treat! I don’t know how else to describe this other than to say it’s like a pesto, but it’s creamy and a lot less oily because unlike pesto, this is not whizzed up using oil, the base is milk with a bit of cream. I like to serve this Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta hot like other creamy pastas but people I’ve given leftovers of this to said that it’s just as nice at room temperature. 🙂 If you’re in the mood for a carb blow out, add Better-Than-Dominos Garlic Bread or Cheesy Garlic Bread!  – Nagi x

More ways to get your creamy pasta fix!

Fettucine Alfredo Creamy Chicken and Bacon Pasta Creamy Tomato Pasta Creamy Garlic Shrimp/Prawn Pasta One Pot Chicken Alfredo Pasta Ultra Lazy Creamy Chicken Broccoli Pasta Bake Seafood Gratin Pasta Bake Baked Mac and Cheese – and try the Shrimp version! Browse all pasta recipes

  SaveSave

Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta - 6Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta - 86Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta - 9Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta - 46Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta - 72Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta - 67Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Pasta - 16