Cowboy Rice Salad

The words “rice” and “salad” do not come naturally for people of Asian background. Rice is to Asians what bread is to Western countries. Growing up, we rarely had bread. In fact, when I visit relatives in Japan, the only reason they would buy bread is for us, thinking that we’ve been so westernised that we must have our bread fix, that rice is not enough! For clarity, that’s not true. But I always find it funny that they purchase bread just for us! So rice as a salad? Hmm. I don’t think that even exists in Japan. And I can’t think of a single rice salad from any Asian country – anyone care to enlighten me??

 

This is the first rice salad I’ve shared here on RecipeTin Eats. (Update: And in 2020, I shared another!) So I wanted to start off with a bang – and this Cowboy Rice Salad is a ripper! It’s a rice salad version of Cowboy Bean Salad  which is also known as Cowboy Caviar, a Midwestern salsa/salad that’s popular in the States. Made with tomatoes, capsicum / bell peppers, red onion, corn, beans and coriander/cilantro, Cowboy Caviar is dressed with a fairly sweet vinaigrette then served as a salad or salsa for scooping up with corn chips. And you know what? The very first thought that popped into my head when I made it was that it would be purrrrrfect to adapt to a rice salad. And it is!

While the salad ingredients are largely the same – except, of course, the addition of rice (head smack!) – I opted for a lime dressing which is a bit lighter and has that citrus zing to it. And I add a touch of spices to the dressing to really drive home that Southwestern flavour. And to give myself the best possible Cowgirl experience. 😇 Because we can all dream. 😂 Of living in the wild, wild west? – Nagi xx PS I like making this with brown rice because I think the slight nutty flavour is fabulous for salads. But this works just as well with white rice.

 WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Cowboy Rice Salad recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Look who the Easter Bunny remembered to visit…. Don’t worry! They’re dog friendly Easter eggs, they aren’t made of chocolate!!

  SaveSave

Cowboy Rice Salad - 73Cowboy Rice Salad - 59Cowboy Rice Salad - 10Cowboy Rice Salad - 71Cowboy Rice Salad - 51Cowboy Rice Salad - 64Cowboy Rice Salad - 91