This recipe is 3 years overdue. Really. I gifted this exact Cookie Mix in a Jar to friends 3 years ago. And every year come Christmas, I get harassed by my darling friends for the recipe. Finally! I’m sharing it!!! I wasn’t hoarding it. Really and truly. I just kept forgetting. 🙂 I think everyone has one of “those” friends in their lives who has everything. You know who I mean, don’t you? That person who wants for nothing, whether it be because they have the luxury of being able to afford everything their heart desires or they just aren’t the material sort who values things. I have both types of friends in my lives. Thus the reason why I started to do homemade gifts.

When it comes to Cookie Mix in a Jar, I have one very specific requirement – it has to be easy for the recipient to make the cookies. No stand mixers, no electric beaters to cream butter. Nope, just add melted butter and an egg, mix, refrigerate then make your life easy by using an ice cream scoop to dollop the dough onto baking trays (why get your hands dirty rolling balls?? 😉 ).

And this is what comes out of the oven: big, soft White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies. Swoon….. (or in Dozer’s case, massive drool…) PS Quick baking nerd moment: because these cookies are dump and mix cookies, the surface is nubbly rather than smooth. To make White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies with a smooth surface, you need to cream butter and sugar with an electric, then add egg etc. So it doesn’t work for Cookie Mix in a Jar recipes. 🙂

I like to make mine big. As in – 8cm/3″ rounds. This makes 12 large cookies. Or if you are so inclined, you can make 18 sensible sized ones. 🙂 I don’t have fancy schmancy graphic design skills so I’ve done up a basic tag for the instructions to attach to the jar. I don’t even have a colour printer, so I designed it for the purpose of pasting inside small Christmas cards, like shown in the photo collage above. Or you could just cut, fold and then glue together so you have a double sided tag to attach to the jar. Click here to download a PDF of the instructions. Oh! I almost forgot – the jars! I got these jars from Kmart in Australia. It comes with the bow and red elastic band which is thin so it makes it easy to thread into even a small hole on the card or tag. These jars were A$3 each. They are a tiny bit too large for the mix but not so much that it will jostle around.  I just had a quick peek at the US Kmart website and there are quite a few cheap mason jar options for less than US$1 per jar (jealous!). 🙂 Whether as gifts for co-workers, teachers, friends or family, I truly think that a homemade gift is one that will make you stand out from the crowd. Oh – if it’s for your boss, add some extra chocolate chips hmm?? 😉 – Nagi xx

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Recipe video! I don’t use a tamper, I just shake the jar or use a spoon to even out the surface of each layer.

 

LIFE OF DOZER

He’s counting down the days to Christmas for a totally different reason to me…

SaveSave

Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 30Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 17Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 7Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 40Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 67Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 90Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 7Cookie Mix In a Jar  White Chocolate Cranberry Cookies - 72