I love chorizos for breakfast, like in Chorizo Baked Beans on Toast and Mexican Breakfast Tacos (Chorizo and Egg). The big flavour punch is a wake up call!

“Smashed potatoes are like mini hash browns. But without all the effort of shredding. Crispy on the outside, and fluffy on the inside.” I invited my mother over for brunch today. That’s not as sweet as it sounds. I left a few things at her place that I needed. So I invited her round for brunch. Then (in separate emails / texts) asked her to bring a few things. A fry pan I left there. Salad servers I wanted to borrow adopt. Fresh herbs from her garden. Some Asian groceries (my closest Asian store is soooo far away!). She’s not exactly far away – about 30km/20 miles. But still. After sending the 5th text for things to bring, I felt a wee bit guilty and thought I better make something extra delicious. I had a chorizo left over in the fridge and decided to make something with that. Anything with chorizo is a sure fire hit. All that free flavour (and spicy oil) packed into one innocent looking sausage. So I decided to throw together a breakfast hash, my way. I only had a handful of baby potatoes (new potatoes, I believe they are called in the US) instead of large ones that I could cube and fry up nice and crispy. So instead of the traditional hash, I decided to make crispy smashed potatoes. Have you ever tried it? It’s superb. You literally microwave or boil baby potatoes until soft, then pop them in the fry pan and “smash” them down with an egg flip or potato masher. Fry them until crispy and golden on both sides, and you end up with little potato bites that are fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside. Like mini hash browns. Yum.

Tossed together with bacon, chorizo and some cherry tomatoes (token gesture for adding veggies), and topped with perfectly cooked eggs with runny, runny yolks…. Speaking of runny yolks, I keep reading breakfast hash recipes where the eggs are baked, poached or separately fried. Why, oh why? I don’t get it. For as long as I can remember, the way I have cooked eggs sunny side up is to crack them straight on top, add a drizzle of water, wack on a lid and let them steam cook for a couple of minutes. Perfectly runny yolks, every single time. Because risk of overcooking is so much lower than baking. And it is so much easier than poaching.

Thanks mum, for being my delivery donkey. I hope you enjoyed breakfast. 🙂 – Nagi   SaveSave

Chorizo Breakfast Hash with Bacon and Smashed Potato - 94Chorizo Breakfast Hash with Bacon and Smashed Potato - 26Chorizo Breakfast Hash with Bacon and Smashed Potato - 1Chorizo Breakfast Hash with Bacon and Smashed Potato - 79