A long awaited reader request…. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve had people writing in asking for my chocolate chip cookie recipe! In truth, I was sitting on it because I wanted to make sure I tested it properly for different measures in different countries. If you’ve ever tried a cookie recipe written by someone in another country and had it fail miserably, chances are that it’s because of the difference in cup, tablespoon and teaspoon measures between countries. As an example, 1 standard Australian cup of flour is 150g/5.3 oz whereas 1 standard US cup is 120g / 4.5 oz. For most recipes, the difference between measures is not enough to affect the recipe or the difference is proportional across the whole recipe so it still works fine. However, for baking recipes, you really have to be careful. Especially cookies and cakes. So that’s a little tip for you when using baking recipes – check the country of origin of the writer. If it’s not your country, proceed with caution! 😉 Oh – in case I forgot to make it really clear – yes I’ve tested this recipe using Australian & rest of world cups (all exc US are very similar) and US cups and weight measures. Oh – and this is based on a Cooks’ Illustrated tried and tested recipe. That always helps!

This chocolate chip cookie recipe may be a little different to most you’ve come across. It’s unique in that there’s no creaming butter, no electric beater is required, there’s no refrigeration of the dough (unless it’s stinking hot where you are!) and there’s no rolling dough. Dump and mix. The batter will be quite soft at first because of the melted butter, but after 5 minutes or so, it firms up into a soft dough that can be scooped onto the baking tray and it holds its form perfectly. Using an ice cream scooper with a lever (seriously handy kitchen utensil – cookies, pancakes, MEATBALLS), it’s super quick to dollop the dough into perfect round mounds that spread into beautiful round cookies. I’ve tried to capture how soft these cookies are in the recipe video (below the recipe). I hope I’ve succeeded. I also hope I’ve succeeded in showing you how straight forward these are to make. Dangerous. I should have called these Dangerous Choc Chip Cookies. Happy weekend everyone! – Nagi xx

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 3 Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies Shortbread Cookies Anzac Cookies Ricciarelli (Italian almond cookies) Byron Bay copycat cookies – Choc Chunk, White Choc Macadamia and Chewy Choc Fudge

PS That moment when I smack my mother’s hand in the video….. I have been wanting an excuse to do that all my life…. PPS This recipe makes big cookies about 10cm/4″ wide. I have a cookie baking session planned this weekend and plan to test out different sizes for bake times and will update the recipe! <– Said baking session took place, recipe updated for directions for small cookies! PPPS I don’t know why it is but my recipes always seem to come out with odd numbers. This recipe makes 13 cookies. THIRTEEN. My trays fit 6 each perfectly. Which means I have to have a third tray…..for just ONE cookie. 🙄

 WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

At the coffee shop responding to messages and recipe questions on my site…..and Dozer wanting to know what I’m writing. That’s a nice way of saying he’s being annoying, shoving his face onto my computer!!

SaveSave SaveSave

Chocolate Chip Cookies  Soft   - 17Chocolate Chip Cookies  Soft   - 11Chocolate Chip Cookies  Soft   - 10Chocolate Chip Cookies  Soft   - 23Chocolate Chip Cookies  Soft   - 51Chocolate Chip Cookies  Soft   - 28