While the Western world goes bonkers over the vision of a glistening baked ham ready for carving, the Chinese are rubbing their hands with glee at the thought of the ham bone. Because this recipe is not just something I made up – though I wouldn’t blame you for thinking so. Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup is a “thing”. It’s called “Congee” in Chinese, and it’s the source of much discussion over who gets the ham bone from our own Christmas ham – or a pact to use it for a Family Meal – as well as smug announcements when one is able to secure extra leftover ham bones. I secured two extra ham bones post Christmas 2017. She says smugly, and proudly But in case you aren’t so lucky / as good at wheedling, and for all other times of the year, store bought ham hocks are ideal for this recipe. (It’s actually better because because it isn’t picked clean!)

SO – WHAT IS CONGEE? 

It’s a white Chinese rice soup / porridge that’s made by slow cooking rice in broth until it breaks down and thickens the soup. It’s mostly rice and broth with just little bits of stuff in it – usually fish and chicken – so it’s highly economical. The consistency varies from a soft, porridge-like consistency which has a lovely creamy mouth feel, to a more runny texture which is more like liquid broth with soft rice bits in it. In case you didn’t read between the lines, I’m not a fan of watery/runny Congee! In China and Hong Kong, Congee is typically served for breakfast with big, puffy deep fried bread sticks for dunking, but I usually have it for dinner (no puffy fried bread sticks!). The key to a great Congee is the broth, and hence why the Chinese go mad over leftover ham bones. It makes an incredible broth – no other flavourings needed.

BE WARNED: THIS IS CRAZY EASY!!

Place rice, lots of water, and ham bone in a pot, slow cooker or pressure cooker. Shred ham, return to pot, simmer a bit more. That’s it. Yes, it really is that easy. I exaggerate not when I say I think this is the ultimate 3 ingredient meal!

STOVE, SLOW COOKER, PRESSURE COOKER

This is a recipe that can be made on the stove, in the slow cooker or pressure cooker. It’s ideal for all 3, and I use all 3 methods. Pressure cooker means I can have it tonight, slow cooker if I’m out all day or if it’s a giant bone. And in winter on the stove, almost always. As for garnishes, at the very least, I like to sprinkle with some chopped green onions. Something crunchy like Asian Fried Shallots (pictured) or even Chang’s crunchy fried noodles is terrific. Chinese Congee shops typically serve it with strips of crispy fried wonton skins. So technically, I use more than 3 ingredients. Don’t crucify me! 😂 – Nagi x  

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

When he escaped my clutches…. PS Don’t worry, they’re doggie cupcakes and yes, I promise to do the recipe soon!

Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup   Congee  3 ingredients    - 8Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup   Congee  3 ingredients    - 36Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup   Congee  3 ingredients    - 34Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup   Congee  3 ingredients    - 73Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup   Congee  3 ingredients    - 85Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup   Congee  3 ingredients    - 61