Like the Brown Sugar Broiled Salmon with Vegetables, this is a terrific one tray salmon recipe that’s quick to prepare!

Chilli Lime Baked Salmon

In my humble opinion, salmon is best cooked in a smoking skillet to get the skin shatteringly crisp. Serve it on mashed potatoes with a lemon herb cream sauce and a side of perfectly roasted baby carrots = restaurant quality dinner. I swear, you’d pay $30 for that at a fancy restaurant. And I’ll go to that effort for a real fancy dinner party when I’m cooking to impress. BUT for midweek, I don’t have the time or energy. Too much washing up! So for midweek, this is more the type of meal I make. Tastes fantastic, it’s healthy and it’s a complete meal all made on one baking tray. 🙂

The trick with one tray baked dinners is timing it so everything is perfectly cooked at the same time. Potatoes take longer than salmon and beans, so I just pop the potatoes in first for 20 minutes to get them started, then add the salmon and beans 20 minutes into the baking time. That way you get golden roast potatoes without overcooking the salmon and beans. The salmon is lightly marinated just for 20 minutes in lime. If you marinate it for much longer, then the lime sort of “cures” the surface of the salmon. Definitely do not marinate it overnight. The acid in the lime juice changes the texture of the flesh, almost breaking it down. Other proteins can handle it, but fish is too delicate. I love the combination of chili, garlic, honey and lime. It’s a classic combination – fresh, zesty and perfect for seafood. To add the kick of chili, I use this neat little trick I learned watching a Jamie Oliver show. Just pop chilis in the freezer, then you can grate them straight into or onto whatever you need. I call it “chili dust” and I love it! I hardly ever finely chop chilis anymore. 🙂

Yummy! Crunchy roast potatoes, a beautifully caramelised salmon with a zesty, garlicky glaze and a fresh kick of chili…I’ll happily have this for dinner any night of the week! Oh – and the beans. Yes, I crammed beans on the tray too, to make it a complete meal! Just pile them into a corner of the tray, that way they kind of “steam”. Perfect! Hope your week isn’t looking too hectic! Have a great one – Nagi x

  SaveSave

Chili Lime Baked Salmon with Potatoes and Beans - 72Chili Lime Baked Salmon with Potatoes and Beans - 18Chili Lime Baked Salmon with Potatoes and Beans - 75Chili Lime Baked Salmon with Potatoes and Beans - 37Chili Lime Baked Salmon with Potatoes and Beans - 64Chili Lime Baked Salmon with Potatoes and Beans - 45