Winner, winner … Chicken with Mushroom Gravy!

I looked at the homepage of my website the other day and all I could see was golden, brown, yellowy foods. Working backwards from the most recent: Cheesy topped Spinach Ricotta Cannelloni (mostly yellow), Spring Rolls (golden brown), Crispy Roasted Parmesan Potatoes (golden brown), Baked Vegetables and Rice (some colour, mostly brown seasoned rice), 3 Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies (100% brown). I vowed to share something colourful this week. Bright, fresh colours, lots of green. I wanted to brighten up my website, darn it!!!! #Fail. And wait until you see the weekend recipe on Friday. It’s more brown. #RepeatFail Fact: Brown foods rock. The golden brown bits of any dish are always the best. Slow cooked stews, curries, pies – this type of food is me. Healthy food blogs are probably very green with lots of colourful veggies. My blog is very brown. And I’m totally cool with that. 😉 So here’s some more brown food for you – Chicken with Mushroom Gravy.

I know many people are extremely fond of cooking with chicken breast, but for me, it’s more the exception rather than the rule. I’m a dark meat gal – thighs, wings, drumsticks, basically every other part of the chook. Body only, I don’t do the chicken feet thing – do you?? 😉 But on this occasion, with all that sauce and a quick pan sear, chicken breast works great. Of course, it would be terrific with thigh too!

I think Mushroom Gravy is my favourite type of gravy. I say “think”, because I’m a little brain washed at the moment, seeing all these photos, and I can’t think of any other type of gravy or gravy type sauce right now. My one little tip is to make this gravy with beef rather than chicken broth. I know it sounds counter intuitive, to use beef broth when you’re making a chicken recipe. But trust me, beef broth works better. It has a more intense flavour, but the beef flavour doesn’t overpower the dish. In fact, though people with a refined palette may notice the beef flavour, normal people wouldn’t. They’ll just know this gravy is to die for. 🙂 – Nagi x PS Beef broth also makes the gravy a nice deep brown colour, whereas chicken broth makes a pale brown gravy. You can use chicken broth if you prefer, but I’d add some extra flavour into the sauce – see notes in the recipe.

More chicken recipes you’ll love!

Greek Chicken Gyros Chicken STROGANOFF! The BEST Baked Chicken Breast – the juiciest baked breast you’ll ever have! Baked Chicken and Rice – chicken AND garlicky butter rice, made in one pan! Honey Mustard Chicken – super quick prep Crispy Parmesan Crusted Chicken Slow Cooked Chicken Stew and a faster Chicken Stew (Casserole) – on the table in under an hour! Browse all chicken recipes

CHICKEN WITH MUSHROOM GRAVY

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Chicken with Mushroom Gravy recipe video! Note the part where I’m making the gravy, how I add the broth gradually, stirring constantly. This is key to ensure you don’t end up with any flour lumps in your gravy. N x

LIFE OF DOZER

Wake up, eat breakfast, deal with private business, settle on day bed to watch the sun rise. #HardLifeOfDozer

SaveSave

Chicken with Mushroom Gravy - 67Chicken with Mushroom Gravy - 25Chicken with Mushroom Gravy - 31Chicken with Mushroom Gravy - 79Chicken with Mushroom Gravy - 89Chicken with Mushroom Gravy - 41Chicken with Mushroom Gravy - 59