“Most One Pot Meals are so loaded with carbs and protein that you need a side salad to make a complete meal. This is truly a complete meal in a One Pot.” There seems to be a One Pot Meal craze going on at the moment. And I highly approve because it’s in my DNA to find shortcuts at every opportunity. However, I find that most One Pot Meals are loaded with carbs and protein so in order to make it a complete meal, you need to make a side salad. Am I alone in this thinking? My interpretation of a “complete meal” is one that has a good balance of protein and vegetables, with carbs being optional (though inevitably present in any recipe I make, being the Carb Monster that I am). This pilaf is a classic example of a One Pot Meal, my way. I make a traditional chicken pilaf, but I load it up with vegetables to make it a complete meal. So it’s not too one dimensional, I add crumbled feta which adds a great burst of saltiness and flavour, as well as a drizzle of lemon juice to freshen up the dish.  

I made this pilaf using vegetables that I happened to have in stock but you really can use whatever vegetables you want. You just need to ensure that you add it to the pilaf at the right time so it cooks without overcooking. I often make this by adding dollops of frozen spinach in it (thawed and excess water squeezed out), just to add even more greens in it. This recipe has a nutrition grade rating of “A” and only 370 calories per serving (assuming 6 servings). Though only 1 cup of rice is used, you will be surprised how far it goes – this recipe makes a lot!

  SaveSave

Chicken   Vegetable Rice  One Pot  - 44Chicken   Vegetable Rice  One Pot  - 58Chicken   Vegetable Rice  One Pot  - 79Chicken   Vegetable Rice  One Pot  - 22