This is loaded with veggies and light on the noodles so it’s nice and healthy. I love stir fried noodles like Chow Mein, Beef Broccoli Noodles and Pad See Ew because they’re a complete meal made in one wok – or skillet!

Quick Rice Noodles Recipe

I literally rummaged through my fridge to make this Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles. Photographed it, ate half, gave the other half to the homeless guy at the dog park. Smugly patted myself on the back for making a recipe I wanted to post on my site using things I already had – no special run to the grocery store to get specific ingredients. Then I realised I needed to make it again for the recipe video. And so off I went to the grocery store. ? #StoryOfMyLife

ANY DRIED RICE NOODLES

I wanted to share this recipe because I have a theory that almost everyone has some sort of dried noodles in the pantry. I made this with thinnish rice sticks which I’m fond of because they just need soaking in boiled water. But you can use any dried noodles you want – dried or fresh. Many noodle stir fries tend to be heavy on the noodles and light on the veggies. This one is the other way round. It only uses 100g/3.5 oz of dried noodles for 2 servings. When you pull out the dried noodles, you’ll be doubtful that it’s enough. But it will be! Once the noodles are soaked, they expand, then when tossed in the sauce and loosened up, they increase in volume again. And also, there is stacks of veggies in this recipe. By volume, there is more veggies than noodles, but they shrink a lot during cooking. Try this spicy Beef Hokkien Noodles!

Speaking of cooking – as with all stir fries, this Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles cooks super fast. Actually, it cooks even faster than most because it’s made with dried rice noodles and if you toss rice noodles in the wok for more than a couple of minutes, they will start to break apart. It’s so disappointing when you dig into a big bowl of noodles only to find it’s just a pile of short broken strands! That is pretty much the only rule with this recipe – it must be cooked super quickly! Any longer than 5 minutes and it’s been on for too long. So next time you’re wondering what to make for dinner – if you can find some dried noodles and bits and bobs in your fridge, make this! – Nagi x  

CHICKEN STIR FRY WITH RICE NOODLES

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Winter? What’s that?? (I took this photo bundled up in a fleece wearing waterproof pants and gum boots!)

SaveSave

Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles - 79Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles - 94Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles - 87Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles - 91Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles - 21Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles - 19Chicken Stir Fry with Rice Noodles - 17