Simple to make, loaded with classic Greek flavours: chicken marinated in lemon, garlic and dried oregano then threaded onto skewers. Served with a homemade Tzatziki, all bundled up in pita bread. Or in my case, a simple homemade flatbread that’s made without yeast!

Chicken Souvlaki

“Just make something quick and easy,” I told myself sternly. “Your To Do List is out of control at the moment. You don’t have time to blog something that will take too long.” So I flicked through my “MUST BLOG SOON!” list to choose something that would be quick to make and picked this Chicken Souvlaki.

Got the chicken marinating, then sat down at my Mac to get on with my other tasks. But I couldn’t concentrate. I had an itch. Not literally. Figuratively speaking. “I should make the flatbreads to go with the Chicken Souvlaki,” I thought. “It will save me a trip to the store to get pita bread.” So I jumped up to make my Easy Soft Flatbreads – made without yeast that comes out lovely and soft so it’s perfect for using as a wrap.

I wrapped up the flatbreads to keep them warm and settled back down at my Mac. Clicked on “Create New Post” and stared at a blank screen. I couldn’t write. I had another tingling feeling of dissatisfaction. “I really should make a Greek Salad to go with this. I need more salads on my site. Plus it will look lovely and bright in the photo.” So I jumped in the car and dashed out to get olives and feta for the Greek salad. It didn’t occur to me for a second that I had just made flatbreads to avoid going to the store. Dashed home and chopped up the Greek Salad.

And while I was chopping up the Greek Salad, I had yet another thought. “I usually serve Lemon Rice with my Greek dishes. Wouldn’t it be nice to share that with everyone? It’s so fresh and yummy.” Yes I did. I made Lemon Rice too.

So here you have it. This “quick Chicken Souvlaki” recipe that I intended to do has ended up being a complete Greek feast menu. Eye roll

This is so typical of me. I tend to get a little over-excited when I get ideas into my head. And while it meant that my “quick little recipe” ended up evolving into a looooong cook/shoot/clean day, boy was it worth it. Because really, look at that spread. It was totally worth working late into the evening to do everything I was supposed to do during the day to be able to share this with you. And the homeless guy at the dog park was rather appreciative too. 😉 – Nagi x

And to rehash – here’s what I made for the Greek menu

This chicken souvlaki recipe Easy Soft Flatbread Big juicy Greek Salad Lemon Rice (pictured with Garlic Prawns/Shrimp)

And – more chicken on sticks!

Pineapple Coconut Hawaiian Chicken Skewers Honey Sriracha Chicken Skewers Thai Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce – also Indonesian Satay Yakitori (Japanese skewers) – on my mother’s Japanese cooking website, RecipeTin Japan!

 LIFE OF DOZER

Look who’s in his usual position…..

SaveSave SaveSave

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 85Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 84Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 3Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 64Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 24Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 41Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 11Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 11Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 53Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki - 8