The new way to make risotto that comes out just as creamy and just as delicious is here – and it’s so much easier, less washing up and far less labour intensive than the old way!

Risotto is one of my all time favourite foods. I feel like I say that about many recipes I’ve shared, but I really mean it. Really!! I don’t make risotto as often as I want to because it’s carb heavy and I lack self control. And it’s just so easy to eat. When I say “easy to eat”, I mean that literally because it’s the type of food that I classify as great Couch Food. Being food you can eat with a spoon without taking your eyes off the TV screen. Not that I’m encouraging you to eat dinner in front of the TV. But you know what I mean. Using a knife and fork to eat a steak dinner requires more concentration than eating risotto. 😉

HOW TO MAKE RISOTTO

Risotto is really easy to make, and you do not have to stir constantly and add hot broth gradually. But there are a few simple tips that make all the difference, as well as busting a few myths! 🙂 However, in order to make a risotto without stirring constantly, you need to use a large pot or skillet (like pictured) so the rice spreads out in a fairly thin layer. I never understood the science behind why my risotto came out creamy even with minimal stirring and dumping all the stock in one go until I read this article by Kenji from Serious Eats: The Road to Better Risotto. He explained that traditionally, risotto is made in a fairly smallish saucepan so the rice is stacked deep and the liquid level is high (if you dump it all in at the same time). So in order for the rice to cook evenly, you need to stir and add the broth gradually. I’ve always made my risottos in a skillet because I find it easier and better to sauté the ingredients that I stir into risottos. Which is why I’ve never had a problem making creamy risotto even though I barely stir and I add most of the (fridge cold) broth in one go! So there you have it! The new way to make risotto – no need to heat the broth, no need to add it in gradually and barely any stirring, and the same end result: a gorgeous, creamy risotto!

I’ve garnished this Chicken and Mushroom Risotto with some golden bits of bacon which not only makes this even tastier (you know my rule: bacon makes everything better!), it serves a double purpose because I sauté the chicken and mushroom in the bacon fat. Never waste free flavour! So! Now that I’ve made risotto so much easier to make, what do you think? Will Chicken and Mushroom Risotto be on your dinner table soon? 🙂 – Nagi x

Save this Chicken and Mushroom Risotto to your “Dinners” Pinterest Board!

And let’s be friends on Pinterest so you can see all the delicious recipes I’m pinning! Life of Dozer – I have lost count of the number of food photos I had to ditch because a certain scavenger was lurking in the background…..

I think you will love…..

Using leftover risotto to make Arancini Balls!!!

This Chorizo Risotto which packs a serious flavour punch! PS Can’t use the no stir method for this risotto because the broth is thicker.

And for busy days, a ONE POT BAKED Chicken and Parmesan Garlic Risotto!

Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 7Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 48Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 73Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 14Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 19Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 19Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 27Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 91Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 91Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 51Chicken and Mushroom Risotto - 29