Cheesy Zucchini Bread

I want to tell you that this is a special recipe I made for Australia Day, which is today, Friday 26th January 2018. Being that as I started writing this post, it dawned on me that this Cheesy Zucchini Bread is green and gold which are our national colours. But alas, I must confess, it is by sheer co-incidence that I happen to be sharing a green and gold recipe on Australia Day. Though actually, regular readers will probably point out that the odds of me sharing something gold on a Friday (the colour of so many things cheesy / creamy / buttery / cakey) are actually quite high. And being that I do make an attempt to take nice photos despite how yellow (or brown) my foods are, I inevitably add a little sprinkle of some kind of greenage – parsley or the like – in an effort to break up all that yellowness. So actually, the chances of me sharing something gold and green were quite high, Australia Day or not. 😂 All this is a round about way of saying that even though I didn’t make this especially, isn’t it nice that this Zucchini Bread looks in the spirit of Australia Day??

Quick and easy Zucchini Bread

The zucchini in this quick bread (aptly named as such because it’s made without yeast, so it’s quick to make), serves a double purpose. Subtle zucchini flavour plus it makes this bread incredibly moist. Actually, it serves a triple purpose. Because it’s hidden veggies!!! I use 2 jam packed cups of shredded zucchini (2 medium-large ones). It looks like an enormous mound when you first grate it and you’ll probably be doubting me, but have faith. Once it’s salted then squeezed of excess liquid, it looks like a much more respectable amount. 🙂

I like to layer slices of cheese in the zucchini bread so you can actually see it, plus you get better pops of cheesy flavour compared to just stirring through grated cheese which seems to dissipate into nothingness. The mystery of the disappearing cheese… Plus, I think it looks good too. 🙂 Inside and the top – it’s almost inevitable that some of the cheese will burst through the surface.

And I especially love how you get strings of cheese in some of the slices. It looks and tastes so good!!!

I promised moist and moist you shall get. You do NOT need butter to scoff down a slice of this zucchini bread, and in fact, if you slather too much butter on, as I did when I was shooting the video, it weighs down the bread and makes it too soggy. True story. Never had that problem with a quick bread before. I think this recipe is ideal for muffins too, because that’s essentially what quick breads are – muffins baked in loaf pans. Happy weekend! Baking plans on your agenda?? Remember – this is in the spirit of Australia Day! – Nagi xx

More zucchini recipes

Crispy Zucchini Fritters Creamy Zucchini Soup Greek Zucchini Tots Healthy Cream of Vegetable Soup (Zucchinis are the secret ingredient for ultra low cal creamy white soup!) Chinese Zucchini Pancakes Zucchini Tian (French Rice Bake)

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

Let’s mark Australia Day 2018 as the day I discovered that stick on tattoos work on dog fur…. oh the possibilities!

Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 57Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 14Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 38Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 67Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 44Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 82Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 35Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 72Cheesy Zucchini Bread  No Yeast  - 25