I have a theory that everything tastes better in mini form. Which is why I share so many “mini” versions of things. Though my friends will have you believe that I prefer small food because I have such small hands. “Baby Hands”, they call me. I regularly remind them that it’s not size that matters, it’s what you can do with them!!

“I like these mini cheese balls because there’s a higher ratio of coating to cheese than with giant cheese balls. Plus, everything tastes better in mini form!” As New Years’ Eve approaches and the summer holidays continue, I’m regularly digging into my recipe stash for quick make ahead party food ideas. Cheese balls are a crowd pleaser, and they’re really versatile so you can always pull one together using things you’ve already got in stock. I usually make a giant one. But the thing is, it looks really impressive when you put it out but it gets destroyed really quickly as soon as people start digging into it!! The other thing with giant cheese balls is that you need to have a decent amount of flavouring mixed through the cheese because the ratio of coating to cheese is quite low so you can’t rely on the coating to provide flavour. So that’s how I came to try my hand at these mini versions. I love the kaleidoscope of colours you can get by using different coatings for the balls! The coatings I used are just what I had on hand – mixed fresh herbs, parmesan cheese, walnuts and cranberries. I’ve provided a fairly lengthy list of suggestions for other coatings in the recipe below. The possibilities are endless!

I’ve changed up the filling too. You can’t tell from the photos because the filling looks the same, but I made 3 different types – cream cheese, feta and goats cheese – so you could make these using the cheese that you prefer. The feta and goats cheese versions are slightly sharper than the cream cheese one. HAPPY NEW YEAR!! Here’s to a great year filled with fun, laughter and LOTS of great food! – Nagi   SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Cheese Truffles  Mini Cheese Balls  - 15Cheese Truffles  Mini Cheese Balls  - 88Cheese Truffles  Mini Cheese Balls  - 34