I like to wedge chunks of cheese in the batter so you get lovely pockets of cheese and the lovely textured crust on top. But you could just mix it through – even faster to prepare!!

A terrific no yeast bread recipe

I don’t often bake with yeast because it requires patience for the dough to rise. Oh, and the kneading. I’ve actually got reasonable upper body strength. My challenge is my height. Sigh. OK, there you have it. I haven’t admitted this on my blog before but not only do I have abnormally small Baby-Hands, I am also vertically challenged. For those of you also in the same boat, you will understand when I say that kneading is much harder for short people because the work surface is higher and you don’t get the benefit of being able to push down with your body weight. I can’t believe I just wrote that. How embarrassing. So. I love no yeast breads that don’t call for kneading – quick breads like this recipe, and these No Knead Dinner Rolls.

The ingredients of this no yeast bread are similar to a muffin but I altered the recipe to make it less crumbly, making it suitable to slice and even to toast. It is light, fluffy and super moist. I like to add the herbs and slices of cheese in after pouring the batter into the bread tin so that you get “swirls” of herb and pockets of cheese in the bread, rather than almost invisible bits of herb and grated cheese all throughout which you can’t really see. But this step is optional. The easier and faster way to make this is to mix grated cheese and herb into the batter, then just pour it all into the tin.

This bread lasts quite well – really fresh for 3 days in a very airtight container, up to 4 is ok. Beyond 4 I would toast it and store it in the fridge. Serve this as a side for meals, or for afternoon tea served with lashings of butter. It’s also fantastic for dipping into soups and slow cooked stews!  – Nagi x

More quick bread recipes

Easy Cinnamon Swirl Quick Bread Blueberry Lemon Loaf with Lemon Glaze Peanut Butter Cheesecake stuffed Chocolate Bread Cheesy Zucchini Bread Authentic Italian Focaccia

If you enjoyed this recipe, I think you’ll LOVE my Cheese & Garlic Crack Bread!

Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 54Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 87Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 75Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 18Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 26Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 60Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 27Cheese  Herb   Garlic Quick Bread  No Yeast  - 3