This week has been a landmark in the history of RecipeTin Eats because I shared TWO meat-free-cheese-free recipes in a row. Absolutely unheard of. So my twisted logic tells me I have calorie credits. So today, I’m sharing something a little indulgent – these crispy potato skins, with double bacon flavour, topped with plenty of cheese. Here’s a nice close up for you, along with the pudgy little fingers of my Baby Hands. Do I hear you laughing…..???!!! Hey! I blame my MUM for my Baby Hands!!

I make my potato skins a little differently to the usual. The key difference being that I like to brush the potato skins with bacon fat rather than butter. Extra bacon flavour, extra crispy, and no wastage. 🙂 What I do is chop up the bacon into little pieces, then bake them for a bit to cook them and make the fat melt. Then I remove the bacon and place the potato skins upside down on the baking tray then use the fat on the tray to brush the potato skins. Bake them until the skin is crispy, THEN turn them over, fill them with bacon, cheese then top with bacon, and bake again. Extra crispy, extra tasty potato skins. You see the beautiful dark golden brown edges on the skins?? You won’t achieve THAT unless you bake them upside down for a spell!

I literally have to wipe my chin every time I look at these photos. I mean, we’re talking about the holy trinity of food (in my books) here. Potato. Bacon. Cheese. I guarantee if you make these for a gathering, you will be THE most popular person there. – Nagi x

PS This is what I do with the scooped out potato – turn them into mashed potato bites! I just pop them in the oven at the same time as the potatoes. 🙂 So here’s a bonus little recipe for you! These are like little soft potato clouds. Cheesy ones!

SaveSave

Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 59Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 98Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 89Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 21Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 85Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 8Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 6Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 23Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 30Cheese and Bacon Potato Skins - 69