It tastes like a brownie, in cookie form – PLUS peanut butter frosting!

I don’t bake much because I am more of a savoury person than a sweet person. So most sweet things I make are “fast and easy” type treats. But this….this is worth every second of effort. It is crazy indulgent and ridiculously scrumptious. The brownie cookie is just like a brownie in both texture and taste. The surface of the cookie has the familiar thin crinkly layer. On the brownie scale of super dense and fudgey through to cakey, this cookie lies somewhere in between. The inside is soft and moist and every so slightly chewy. And it’s really, really chocolatey. The frosting is delightful. It is so fluffy and creamy with a distinct peanut butter flavour. It is sweet but also has a touch of salt which a key element of the flavouring that makes the frosting so insanely addictive. So put the brownie cookie and peanut butter frosting together and you have perfection in a cookie.

The idea for this cookie sandwich came from a recipe by Donna Hay (an Australia celebrity cook) but I used a brownie cookie recipe by Jen’s Favorite Cookies and a Peanut Butter Frosting by Ina Garten (aka Barefoot Contessa), from her cookbook “Barefoot Contessa at Home: Everyday Recipes You’ll Make Over and Over Again“. The brownie cookie recipe is in US measurements but I was confident it would work using Australia cups and teaspoons (which are slightly different) because this is a “low risk” baking recipe. I guessed right, it worked brilliantly. I’ve made it twice now and both times it came out exactly the same. The cookies you see in the photos are giant size – they are just a touch larger than the size of my palm (but mind you, I have abnormally small Baby Hands). They are around 3.5″/8.5cm in diameter. I made them gigantic because my irrational logic told me that was a smart move, instead of dealing with the guilt of having two normal sized cookie sandwiches. But if you are a normal person, by all means make them normal size. I’ve provided directions for both below. 🙂 – Nagi

All things Brownies

Classic Fudgy Brownies Outrageous Nutella Brownies – lives up to their name! Salted Caramel Stuffed Brownies Gluten Free Brownies – so moist, with a hint of almond flavour

  SaveSave

Brownie Cookie Sandwich with Peanut Butter Frosting - 72Brownie Cookie Sandwich with Peanut Butter Frosting - 25Brownie Cookie Sandwich with Peanut Butter Frosting - 27Brownie Cookie Sandwich with Peanut Butter Frosting - 11Brownie Cookie Sandwich with Peanut Butter Frosting - 16