One of my greatest sources of inspiration are food blogs. I am continually amazed by the creativity, wealth of knowledge and talent that is “out there” in the food blogging community. And one of my personal favorites is Kathleen from Hapa Nom Nom. Ever since the very first day that I stumbled across her blog by chance, I was hooked. Having tried quite a few of her recipes (scroll down to see my favorites!) and reading every recipe she publishes, I can tell you with absolutely certainty that Kathleen’s palette is very similar to mine. We both like strong flavours and enjoy diversity, discovering and sharing gems from around the world that are easy enough for anyone to make. So it is with the utmost of gratitude and honour that I pass you over to Kathleen who is here today to share with us one of her amazing creations. I can assure you that I’ll be making this as soon as I get back to Sydney! – Nagi x


Hi there! I’m Kathleen from Hapa Nom Nom. I’m so honored to be doing a guest post for one of my very favorite bloggers, Nagi as she’s traveling halfway around the world to Mexico and then onto California. There’s no doubt she’s eating some pretty incredible food while on her journey and I can’t wait to see what inspires her and how she’ll transform it into a RecipeTin Eats original! Today I’d like to share with you, Blackened Fish Tacos with Avocado-Lime Slaw. Anytime I’m at a restaurant and see the option to have something blackened, I jump on it! A blend of spices popular in Cajun cuisine, it adds serious flavor to anything it touches, and chances are you already have the spices needed in your pantry. I love making a big batch to have on hand for a quick and easy weeknight meal – tilapia, mahi mahi, shrimp, even chicken breasts all get a burst of flavor with this spice blend. What’s even better – you’re adding an incredible amount of flavor without adding a lot of fat. Of course the fat I’m referring to is from the olive oil used to cook the fillets and that’s healthy fat, so another win for the dish!

When it comes to the coleslaw there seems to be two camps – vinegar based and mayonnaise based. Personally, I’m team mayo when it comes to fish tacos. Rather than piling on veggies dripping with mayonnaise after I just went on about how you can get so much flavor without adding fat to the fish fillets, I thought it best to find an alternative. Enter avocado-lime dressing. A yogurt based sauce; it adds a cool, creamy texture with a zippy flavor – a perfect compliment to the bold spices of the blackened fish. Now because I just couldn’t help myself, I did end up adding a touch of mayo as a finishing sauce by making a quick Sriracha aioli. It’s actually pretty loose; as I’ve thinned it out a bit with lime juice – so you get a little drizzle of some of that flavor from the fat without big globs of it. Again, adding another layer of flavor to the dish. I hope you enjoy these tacos as much as I do! It really is amazing what well portioned spices and a balance of flavors can create. – Kathleen from Hapa Nom Nom

And more tacos

Quick Chicken Tacos – 2 in 1 recipe, shredded taco seasoned chicken AND taco sauce Beef Tacos – the old school way Marinated Grilled Chicken Tacos Slow Cooked Shredded Mexican Chicken for Tacos Fish Tacos – marinated and grilled, healthy and delicious! Pork Carnitas Tacos – the iconic Mexican pulled pork tacos Shredded Beef Tacos – tender slow cooked shredded beef in a deep flavoured Mexican sauce

LIFE OF DOZER

PS Proof that Dozer LOVED the homemade biscuits!

Blackened Fish Tacos  Hapa Nom Nom Guest post  - 32Blackened Fish Tacos  Hapa Nom Nom Guest post  - 87Blackened Fish Tacos  Hapa Nom Nom Guest post  - 16Blackened Fish Tacos  Hapa Nom Nom Guest post  - 99Blackened Fish Tacos  Hapa Nom Nom Guest post  - 86Blackened Fish Tacos  Hapa Nom Nom Guest post  - 18Blackened Fish Tacos  Hapa Nom Nom Guest post  - 55