About “Dinner” cookbook

“The food you want to cook, eat and share, night after night”, aptly named “Dinner” (no exclamation mark, much to my dismay), this cookbook contains over 130 recipes plus 44 sides, sauces and other extras. Pretty hefty – bigger than typical cookbooks! What is pre-ordering? It means that a copy of my cookbook will be reserved for you just in case it sells out (imagine that! 😱). Plus you will enjoy the convenience of having it delivered directly to you when it becomes available on 11 October 2022! AUSTRALIA NEW ZEALAND Mighty Ape | Paper Plus | Whitcoulls More INTERNATIONAL With a focus on quick and easy food for weeknights and a sprinkle of special treats for festive occasions, the recipes use easy-to-find ingredients and include what my publisher calls “Nagi’s famously helpful notes”. 😂 And – a big SURPRISE……

SURPRISE! Every recipe has a how-to video!

Yup, you read that right. Every single recipe comes with a how-to video, just like the recipes here on my website! All you have to do is use your phone or iPad/tablet to scan the QR code and it will take you straight to the recipe video which will live in a special corner of this website! The decision to do a video for every recipe was a huge workload commitment. You’re insane!!! I heard, multiple times from people much wiser than me. 😂 But for me? The thought of doing a cookbook without accompanying recipe videos was never even a consideration. For the last 5 years, every recipe I’ve shared on this website has had a recipe video – with the exception of super simple sides. You tell me how helpful you find them. So a minor little thing like the fact that a cookbook is printed rather than online wasn’t going to stop me from having recipe videos to accompany each recipe – he!

Peek inside!

“……in her first cookbook, Nagi brings us the ultimate curation of new and favourite RecipeTin Eats recipes – from comfort food (yes, cheese galore), to fast and easy food for weeknights, Mexican favourites, hearty salads, Asian noodles, and treats for festive occasions.”

“Featuring a photo and how-to video for every recipe, readily available ingredients, Nagi’s famously helpful notes, and Dozer, Australia’s best-loved food tester, this is a kitchen-shelf must-have….”

Recipe index

Click the images below to view full size and browse the full recipe index. There’s 130 recipes plus 44 extras – sides, sauces, salad dressings, rice, breads!

A very big thank you – to you!

I don’t think I’ve told you this – I made this cookbook for you.

Everyday recipes – The vast majority (say, 85%) are what I’d call “everyday recipes” that are straight forward and made with easily accessible ingredients

Cuisine – 20% of the recipes are Asian / Asian influenced, a whole chapter on Mexican (I adore Mexican food!), a sprinkle of French and Mediterranean, dusting of Middle Eastern and the balance are Western dishes.Gluten free – approximately 1/3 of the recipes, including those made gluten-free with very simple, common GF substitutes.Meat-free recipes – approximately 25%. (Are you shocked?? 😂 I was. It wasn’t intentional!)Calorie conscious – I am not a “healthy” recipe creator nor do I sacrifice the quality of the end result simply for the sake of reducing calories. However, most of my recipes are well balanced sensible meals. I was not raised cooking with vast amounts of cream or butter!Cheese-free – I decline to answer.Special occasions – A sprinkle of dishes for festive occasions and leisurely Sunday suppers!

The other photos were done by me, in my home, in a makeshift studio shown below. The garbage bags to block the light are stylish, aren’t they??? I might even remove them one day and upgrade to blinds!

Initial experimentation phase (>300!)Refining the chosen recipesTesting and re-testing by me, my Chef (JB – you’re obsessed with his Chicken Fricassée) and my teamIndependent testing of every single recipe by recipe testersMaking the recipes for photosMaking the recipes for the recipe videos

It certainly wasn’t for my family. Being such capable cooks themselves, they will never use a single recipe from it! 😂 You are the reason I love what I do, the reason that RecipeTin Eats is not just a soulless, silent website but a vibrant community. And you are the reason I wanted to create a cookbook, a physical thing we can touch and scrawl over (do it!), that can sit on your kitchen shelf. I secretly love the idea of being in your kitchen with you! 😉 Thank you for your enthusiasm when I announced I was planning to do a cookbook, for your messages of support, for the laughter, sometimes your cheekiness (😂), and your patience during the months of silence as I worked on this cookbook. You made me strive to do the very best I could! I’ve truly given this cookbook everything I have, supported by a wonderful, talented team (you’ll meet them in the cookbook!). I’m so proud of the end result. I genuinely love every single recipe and I hope you love them too! Thank you again. I feel so very fortunate to be surrounded by such great people. – Nagi x

What is pre-ordering? It means that a copy of my cookbook will be reserved for you just in case it sells out (imagine that! 😱). Plus you will enjoy the convenience of having it delivered directly to you when it becomes available on 11 October 2022! AUSTRALIA NEW ZEALAND Mighty Ape | Paper Plus | Whitcoulls More INTERNATIONAL

Life of Dozer

Of course I wanted Dozer to be in the lead photo for this exciting announcement post! But after many (many!) attempts, I had to concede defeat…. Some more attempts –

Dear Dozer

Dear Dozer, You were there with me every step of the way through this cookbook, from the moment I made the decision to make it. By my side when I was shooting late into the night, offering to scrub – I mean lick – the piles of dirty dishes on weekends, keeping my toes warm when I was bashing away on the keyboard in the middle of the night, squeezing yourself under tripods holding very expensive cameras. Taste testing every single dish, nibbling dirty tea towels (you’re such a grot), falling asleep in front of the oven when we were slow-roasting. You never stopped believing you could make a hunk of meat fall off the bench through sheer will power, and shamelessly used your looks to get extra treats throughout this whole project. I love you so very, very much. – Nagi x

BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 60BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 76BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 73BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 99BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 93BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 97BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 83BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 79BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 8BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 2BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 65BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 44BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 26BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 5BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 22BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 40BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 77BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 11BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 55BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 97BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 2BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 96BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 47BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 77BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 98BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 29BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 84BIG NEWS  RecipeTin Eats cookbook pre orders   surprise  - 82