After Vanilla Cupcakes? Here they are!

Chocolate Cupakes

Using the term “BEST” is not something I do lightly. I do feel a bit uncomfortable saying that these are the BEST Easy Chocolate Cupcakes. But in the cupcake world, I truly do believe these to be the best that can be for a simple no-standmixer, no creaming butter recipe. I was back and forth about which cupcake recipe to share. I was tempted to go for a “100% perfect” version which requires a stand mixer / electric beater to cream butter. And I wanted to be able to talk to you about how perfect they are. But you know what? The Perfect version is not the one I make the most. This Easy version is. It’s my “go to”, the one I can make right now, without waiting for butter to soften, without pulling out my hand beater. And the difference between this Easy version and the Perfect version is so insignificant, I don’t care. And so it was settled. I went for the Easy version. 🙂

These Chocolate Cupcakes are…

Being the quick and easy version these are, you’ll notice that the surface of the dome does have some small cracks on it. But for the easy of this recipe, it is a very small price to pay. Besides, no cupcake ever leaves my kitchen without frosting!!!

Best frosting for Chocolate Cupcakes

Hard to go past chocolate-on-chocolate, but I will put forward some non chocolate options too!

Chocolate Buttercream – I realise how ironic it is that I’d feature these cupcakes with tall swirls of buttercream frosting which calls for both softened butter and and stand mixer! 😂 But hey, frosting is worth the effort. 😇 Pipe on swirls, or spread on with a knife; Speedy Chocolate Fudge Frosting (pictured below, in recipe card) – made with cocoa powder mixed with melted butter, then thickened with icing sugar/frosting until it’s a spreadable consistency, this frosting is quite rich so I’d recommend just spreading onto the cupcakes rather than piping tall swirls; Decadent Chocolate Ganache Frosting – made with melted chocolate and cream, this is a deluxe chocolate frosting that I use for my sinfully decadent Chocolate Fudge Cake. Once melted, it’s cooled until it thicken into a spreadable consistency. I don’t recommend piping this on in tall swirls, it would be overly rich I feel! Vanilla Buttercream – White frosting on chocolate cupcakes looks striking and makes for a lovely flavour combination! Use the recipe in my Vanilla Cake recipe – it will frost 12 cupcakes generously (tall swirls) though if you just want to smear it on then you can halve the batch; and My Secret Less-Sweet Fluffy Vanilla Frosting – this frosting is magical! It’s like a cross between whipped cream and buttercream. Far less sweet and fluffier than buttercream, and it’s also 100% silky smooth (buttercream will always have a faint grit to it, the icing sugar/powdered sugar never fully dissolves). Dense than whipped cream, and unlike whipped cream, it holds its form for days.

I’ve shared the Chocolate Buttercream Frosting in a separate post because I think it’s worthy of being a separate recipe. 🙂 Also because I’ve done a video for that too – I didn’t want to cram it into the cupcake recipe video. The weekend is here!! Do I hear chocolate cupcakes calling your name?? I think I do….. 😉 – Nagi xx

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Best Easy Chocolate Cupcakes recipe video!

 

LIFE OF DOZER

No chocolate cupcake for Dozer. Bad for you! How about a giant bone instead? (Mind you, it’s a dry aged one from a fancy butcher. Got it for free! 💪🏻)

Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 92Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 67Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 29Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 70Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 74Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 44Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 25Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 88Best EASY Chocolate Cupcakes  no stand mixer  - 9