Flavour packed everyday Burrito recipe!

Having a stash of burritos in the freezer makes me feel smug. Along with homemade Frozen Pizzas, these are one of the all time ultimate freezer meals. Except burritos have the added bonus that you don’t even need to dirty a tray to reheat them, or a plate to eat them. Food you can eat with your hands always rates highly in my world!!! 😂 I call this Beef Burrito recipe an “everyday beef burrito” because beef filling aside, it’s a terrific one for adding in what you have and what you want. The key part of this recipe is the Beef Burrito Filling – highly seasoned with a homemade spice mix that tastes like Old El Paso – except it’s preservative free!

What goes in beef burritos

The Beef Filling is the main flavour component in this burrito recipe. It’s highly seasoned and juicy so it provides the “wetness” in the burrito as well as the flavour mixing through the other ingredients when you roll it up. So other than the Beef Burrito Filling, there’s endless possibilities for what to put in the burrito! For this recipe, I’ve chosen a combination of ingredients that freeze well:

Beef Burrito Filling – juicy and packed with flavour! Plain white rice – or try brown rice, quinoa, or this Mexican Red Rice!) Corn Black beans Cabbage or lettuce Diced tomato Red onion Cheese Coriander/cilantro

How to freeze and reheat burritos

I like to use foil to roll up the burritos as it holds it together and then I can reheat it in the foil in the oven. To freeze, I wrap in cling wrap (for extra air tight assurance) then put it in a ziplock bag or airtight container. To reheat the burrito, I simply defrost in the fridge overnight then pop it in the ovenin the foil  to make it crisp and heat through. If I forgot to defrost overnight, then I take it out of the foil, microwave on low to defrost, then wrap it up in the foil again and pop it in the oven to crisp up.

Dipping sauces for burritos

I totally forgot to take a photo of what to dip burritos in. They do need something because you can’t make the filling too wet, otherwise it makes the tortilla soggy. For simplicity, my go-to is sour cream or yoghurt, sometimes with a dollop of some sort of chilli sauce. If I feel like making more of an effort or I’m doing these for a group (I like doing burritos for camping), then I’ll make Restaurant Style Salsa (because it’s smooth, it’s good for dipping) or this Avocado Dipping Sauce. So – have I convinced you that you need to fill your freezer with these burritos??? – Nagi xx

FAVOURITE MEXICAN RECIPES

Carnitas (Mexican Pulled Pork) Beef Barbacoa Chicken Fajitas and Beef Fajitas Beef Enchiladas Queso Cheese Dip Mexican Fiesta Menu and recipes See all Mexican recipes

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Beef Burrito recipe video!

Burrito recipe originally published June 2017. Updated for housekeeping matters October 2018 – no change to recipe!

Burrito Fever

Life of Dozer

Staring competition: Dozer vs Burrito. Dozer won.

SaveSave SaveSave

Beef Burrito - 26Beef Burrito - 96Beef Burrito - 51Beef Burrito - 24Beef Burrito - 71Beef Burrito - 87Beef Burrito - 3