Bacon Tart

When I try a dish at a restaurant that really blows me away, I like to try to find the recipe afterwards so I can make it home. Especially this Maple, Bacon and Pumpkin Tart, which is only served on Sundays. It’s so good, it should be enjoyed 7 days a week!! I wasn’t expecting to find it, and was fully prepared to do my own copy-cat version. But surprisingly I found the recipe on Gourmet Traveller Australia which happens to be my favourite cooking magazine.

“I’ve written up the recipe 2 ways: roasting the pumpkin (per the original recipe) or microwaving it. I barely notice a difference in taste and it saves 30 minutes of cooking time!” The original recipe calls for homemade puff pastry. I’m sorry, but I don’t have the time or energy to make my own! So I replaced the homemade puff pastry with store bought. So that way this recipe will take you all of about 10 minutes to prepare instead of 1 hour! The other shortcut I sometimes do (but not always) is microwaving rather than roasting the pumpkin. There is no denying that roasting the pumpkin adds extra flavour from the wonderful caramelisation you get. However, because bacon itself has such a strong flavour plus the tart is brushed with maple syrup, I find that there is very little difference. Barely noticeable. And there is a 30 minute cooking time difference (being the pumpkin roasting time). I’ve served it both ways and no one has noticed any difference. 🙂 So I’ve written up the recipe both ways. I really love the flavour combination of this tart! I’ve made it extra indulgent by doubling up the puff pastry layer so it is more like the homemade puff pastry that you get at Pinbone restaurant. So why not stay in for brunch this weekend? Free coffee refills and just 10 minutes prep – and you can stay in your PJ’s! Happy brunching! – Nagi

Brunch Tarts

Caramelized Pear and Blue Cheese Tart – this flavour combo is SO GOOD! Bacon, Egg and Mushroom Tart – all your breakfast essentials, piled onto a puff pastry tart Quiche Lorraine – and Hash Brown Crust Quiche Lorraine! Italian Sausage Quiche

  SaveSave

Bacon Tart with Pumpkin and Maple - 28Bacon Tart with Pumpkin and Maple - 18Bacon Tart with Pumpkin and Maple - 4