“These are great food-on-the-go!” These little morsels came about when I was having a bunch of friends over for brunch. I am insanely obsessed with french toast (as regular readers will know from the number of french toast creations I’ve posted!). But you can’t really make it for more than 4 people at a time because you need to stand at the stove making batch after batch. A great option to make french toast for a crowd is french toast casserole, where you layer pieces of bread and egg mixture in a casserole dish and bake it up, then spoon it out like a casserole. I’ve made them in the past, but to be honest, I find that the centre of the bake is a little too eggy – that is, the proportion of crunch to soft/moist is too low. (Though I am thinking of making a version that dials up the crunch factor on top to get around this).

So rather than making one big casserole, I decided to make individual french toast muffins. And….well…..they worked! It was really handy being able to make 2 muffin trays (24) at the same time. And even better, I made most of it the night before then just assembled it in the morning. “This is a great way to use up stale bread. And you can prepare ahead the night before!” I want to be able to tell you that you can assemble them in the muffin tin the night before, but I don’t recommend it because the egg mixture in the bread cubes at the top of the muffins sinks to the bottom of the muffin tin so the bread cubes on top are not as moist as the ones at the bottom. So I recommend making up the bread-egg mixture the night before, as well as the bacon, then just spooning it into the muffin tin the next morning. It really doesn’t take that long! Time to expose my embarrassing pudgy Baby-Hands again. But for good cause – so you can see that it’s like mini pull-apart breads! I love that you can just pick bits off and eat it with your hands. It’s great food-on-the-go, I just pop a couple in a paper bag and snack on them like muffins. Having said that though, there is no denying that maple syrup catapults these into another universe. Come on, you know bacon and maple syrup is a match made in heaven! Can you imagine it? Each bite is crunchy on the outside, soft and moist on the inside with little salty bursts of bacon mixed with the warmth and sweetness of maple syrup. Bring it on. – Nagi x

More cute spins on French Toast

We all love classic French Toast – but sometimes it’s nice to try something different!

Cinnamon French Toast Sticks – and Bites! Strawberry Nutella French Toast Roll Ups Jam Jelly Doughnut French Toast Hasselback Baked French Toast S’mores French Toast Apple Cinnamon French Toast Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast

 

Bacon French Toast - 19Bacon French Toast - 36Bacon French Toast - 87