Bacon, Egg and Mushroom Tart

Hi, I’m Nagi and I’m a Puff Pastry-aholic. Actually, that’s pretty poor form to joke about my addiction to puff pastry. But I couldn’t help it. Because if there was a 12 step program to wean me off my addiction, I’d be there in a heartbeat. It actually takes me a lot of will power to not post a puff pastry recipe every couple of weeks. I always have some in the freezer (you didn’t think I made my own, did you??!) and it’s kind of my “stand by” pantry staple for meals and snacks. For example, I have a theory that pretty much any leftovers can be turned into a puff pastry triangle – mini or giant ones. And even if you only had cheese, you can make little bite size finger food. OR you can even just brush with butter, garlic and a sprinkle of parmesan and make twists. Or you can do jam twists. Or Nutella twists. See? I’m the Crazy Puff Pastry Lady. Maybe that’s what my neighbours call me. Look – here are a whole lot of samples from one weekend when I went a little puff pastry mad, experimenting with all sorts of twists. 😉 This tart is one of my Brunch-For-Friends recipes. The yummiest part is actually buried under the pile of eggs, mushrooms and bacon. It’s a mixture made with an egg yolk, mustard and plenty of cheese that is spread on the puff pastry and baked until bubbly and golden before piling the toppings on and popping it back in briefly so it all comes together. This is how the toppings are “bound” to the puff pastry. Kind of like how you use pizza sauce to keep all the toppings from sliding off the pizza the moment you bite into it (isn’t it disappointing when that happens?).

This holds up very well as a make ahead. It reheats wonderfully, making it even better for making ahead. It doesn’t take long to reheat and in fact, I really only reheat it quickly in a hot oven because I don’t like eggs overcooked. Think of all the topping possibilities. You’re only limited by your imagination! Happy weekend! I think it’s a good weekend for staying in your PJ’s for as long as possible rather than going OUT for brunch! – Nagi x

Brunch Tarts

Caramelized Pear and Blue Cheese Tart – this flavour combo is SO GOOD! Bacon Tart with Pumpkin and Maple – a recipe from a trendy bistro  Quiche Lorraine – and Hash Brown Crust Quiche Lorraine! Italian Sausage Quiche

  SaveSave

Bacon  Egg and Mushroom Tart - 5Bacon  Egg and Mushroom Tart - 6Bacon  Egg and Mushroom Tart - 62Bacon  Egg and Mushroom Tart - 13Bacon  Egg and Mushroom Tart - 79Bacon  Egg and Mushroom Tart - 12Bacon  Egg and Mushroom Tart - 95