Too. Hot. It’s just TOO HOT to cook! Apparently Sydney is “suffering” through a record breaking heat wave. Climate change. Tut, tut. So tonight (Sunday), as I’m writing up this post and America is gearing up for the single biggest football game of the year (Super Bowl Sunday!), there are two things going through my head: Yup! I’m off to Japan this week! It’s been too long since I’ve been to visit my relatives, get my Japanese food fix /ski fix, shopping galore / visit my relatives (oops, better fix my priorities 😉). Stay tuned for live updates of my travels on Instagram! (Yes, the thought of who might win the game is notably absent from the thoughts in my head. Bring on the food. I’ll cater. You watch!) Oh. And yes, thoughts about this Asian Salmon Salad are noticeably absent too. Hmm. Well! There’s a glimpse into my mind and how it wanders!!

Actually, I made this salad on Saturday. It wasn’t as much of a stinker (Aussie slang interpretation:stinking hot day!) but it was still hot enough for me to avoid stove time. Thus this Asian Salmon Salad was born. I deliberately cut the salmon into cubes so they cook faster – and also more surface area = high ratio of caramelisation and glaze to flesh. If you’ve got the stove on for more than 3 minutes, I’m putting you in the naughty corner because your salmon will be overcooked. 😞

As you can see in the photo above, the salmon is cooked in a sticky Asian sauce. It cooks down into a syrupy consistency really quickly – literally less than 30 seconds – and the idea behind this recipe is that the glaze forms part of the dressing for the salad. The salmon is gorgeous hot, warm or at room temperature. Personally I even love it cold. In fact, I had it cold straight from the fridge today (see Dozer gagging for the last piece of salmon at the bottom of the post!). This salmon would be absolutely divine served on rice to soak up all that gorgeous sauce. But I really did enjoy it as a salad. The glaze combined with my super simple but everyone-loves-it Asian Sesame Dressing drizzled over whatever greens you have, then topped with that glazed salmon makes an epic salad that should take you just on 15 minutes to make. Or less if you have the Asian Sesame Dressing already in your fridge ready to go.  And why wouldn’t you when it keeps for weeks and weeks and it’s so good you can use it for marinating and dressing almost any salad / steamed vegetables!

I’m happy to be adding another giant salad to my recipe collection! Especially one that’s made with a protein other than chicken or prawns / shrimp. Something a little different, ridiculously delicious, loaded with all the good stuff. 😉 – Nagi x

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Asian Salmon Salad recipe video! Lovely eye candy moment watching the salmon simmering in that glaze….

LIFE OF DOZER

If you eat on the couch instead of the table, this is what you have to deal with. 🙄 Should I give him the last piece of salmon? Should I….???

Asian Salmon Salad - 5Asian Salmon Salad - 48Asian Salmon Salad - 25Asian Salmon Salad - 99Asian Salmon Salad - 33Asian Salmon Salad - 88Asian Salmon Salad - 4Asian Salmon Salad - 71