You can never have too many Asian chicken recipes – and this one is a great all rounder!

Asian Chicken recipe

This is a classic Food Memory dish. You know what I mean, don’t you?? It’s when the sight, smell or taste of a specific food brings back a flood of memories of a specific moment in your life. And I will always remember this particular Asian chicken recipe as the one that rendered my girlfriends silent. A very rare, noteworthy moment. Because when I get together with my girlfriends, the noise never stops. Chattering, laughing, screeching. You know what it’s like when a bunch of girls get together!!! But when I put a platter of this Asian Chicken on the table and my friends starting tucking in, silence descended over the table.

The Asian Chicken Marinade tenderises and infuses the chicken with great Asian flavours!

Of course, it was fleeting. Because I distinctly remember one of the girls breaking the silence with a wisecrack about….well, that we were silent because we were so busy tucking into the food!!! This is one of my classic “back pocket” recipes that I vary from day to day, depending on what I have in the fridge. It’s not so much about having the exact ingredients, it’s more about using the same proportions of something sweet, salty, savoury and sour. So while the end result might not taste exactly the same as my base recipe, it’s still going to be really tasty. Really, really tasty. 🙂 Which is why I’ve provided plenty of substitutions in the notes. Plus you can eyeball the measurements too. No need to pull out measuring spoons. (Unless you really don’t trust yourself to get the measures approximately right!!)

Great Asian recipe for the grill

The other lovely thing about this recipe is that you can throw it on the BBQ (it’s my “go to” Asian BBQ recipe), cook it on the stove (which is what I did for these photos), under the broiler/grill or bake it in the oven.

So what’s on your meal plan for this week? If you’re preparing ahead, this is perfect to add to the menu! Just throw the chicken and marinade into a ziplock bag and pop it straight into the freezer. It will marinade in the time it takes for it to freeze and defrost which is handy. Serve it with rice on the side (psst! Did you know you can freeze cooked rice rice? All my relatives in Japan do it! 🙂 ) and some juicy wedges of cucumber (no dressing required, the freshness is a great match with the strong flavours of the chicken). It’s dinner in a snap! And a pretty darn sensational one at that, in my humble opinion. And if the reaction from my friends was anything to go by! – Nagi x

My favourite Asian Chicken recipes

All these are ideal for grilling but can also be cooked on the stove

Thai Satay Chicken Skewers with Peanut Sauce Yakitori Chicken – Japanese chicken skewers on my mother’s Japanese recipe website, RecipeTin Japan Thai Grilled Chicken (Gai Yang) – marinated in a fragrant Thai marinade Vietnamese Lemongrass Chicken – infused with beautiful Vietnamese lemongrass flavours Thai Coconut Chicken – added richness and flavour from a coconut marinade

My favourite back-pocket marinades

These are the ones I use over and over again, made with pantry staples with lots of sub options!

Just a great Chicken Marinade Italian Dressing Chicken Marinade A Great Pork Chop Marinade Beef Steak Marinade Rosemary Garlic Marinated Lamb Chops

Nutrition per serving, assuming 500g/1lb thigh fillets for 4 servings. Reduces to 288 calories if chicken breast is used. Sodium can be reduced by using less soy sauce or low sodium soy sauce.

Life of Dozer

Shock horror. Guess where Dozer was camping out while I photographed this. (PS He’s wearing his robe because I took him the beach just before making this and it was cold this morning. How would you like to be walking around with wet fur all over you in the middle of winter?? 😉 )

Asian Chicken Marinade - 94Asian Chicken Marinade - 9Asian Chicken Marinade - 21Asian Chicken Marinade - 89Asian Chicken Marinade - 24Asian Chicken Marinade - 18Asian Chicken Marinade - 98Asian Chicken Marinade - 68