Have you ever used apple cider as a marinade before? It’s like a secret weapon broth / stock. Because it’s got so many more layers than just plain apple juice or even broth, which means you don’t need many other ingredients to create incredible flavour! Just to be clear – I’m talking about alcoholic apple cider. In some parts of the world, including America, “apple cider” refers to a non alcoholic drink made from (this will surprise you 😉 ) apples. In America, alcoholic apple cider is known as hard cider. It’s like using beer in cooking but easier, because unlike beer, cider doesn’t have wheat undertones that needs to be cooked out. Apple cider tastes much cleaner and a bit sweet, but not overly so, it’s very crisp.

I used Rochdale Apple Cider in my recipe. I feel very honoured that they asked me to sample their cider and if I liked it, to create a recipe using it. I was quite interested to read about how it is made. It’s so pure – made with just apple juice, pure New Zealand glacial water, and yeast. That’s it! Seriously! No preservatives! It’s GLUTEN-FREE!!! This is a big plus for me because one of my regular taste-tester friends is gluten free. 🙂 So I kicked back and sipped on a chilled bottle of Rochdale cider, contemplating what I could make. And came up with the idea to use it as a marinade…. But in all seriousness, check out how juicy this pork is! Pork tenderloin is notoriously hard to cook so it’s nice and juicy because it’s so lean. But when you brine / marinade pork tenderloin in apple cider….woah! I was amazed at the juices that squeezed out of it as I sliced it!! Here – see for yourself!

Rochdale Apple Cider. Cook with it. Drink it. The best kind of ingredient there is!! It was after 12pm when I took these photos. Hence TOTALLY acceptable to have a sip….or two….ok, I finished the bottle. Don’t judge me.

I served this with an Apple & Fennel salad because apple and pork are great mates, and fennel and pork are lovers. So I figured I couldn’t go wrong. I really do think this is a dish worthy of a dinner party. But you tell me – what do you think? If this was served up to you at a dinner, would you be pleased? 😉 -Nagi x

Pork tenderloin recipes

Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin Pork Tenderloin with Creamy Marsala Sauce Also try serving pork tenderloin with this Creamy Mushroom Sauce – just sear/roast pork per this recipe

  This post is sponsored by the lovely people at Rochdale Cider from New Zealand! Super crisp and clean, it’s made from glacial water which = extra clean taste. I especially love how crisp it tastes and not too sweet! Not a fan of overly sweet drinks. 🙂 N x

Apple Cider Glazed Pork Tenderloin - 15Apple Cider Glazed Pork Tenderloin - 22Apple Cider Glazed Pork Tenderloin - 29Apple Cider Glazed Pork Tenderloin - 84Apple Cider Glazed Pork Tenderloin - 81Apple Cider Glazed Pork Tenderloin - 5Apple Cider Glazed Pork Tenderloin - 27